General Election (Spring 2022)

Results (April 11, 2022)

Dear students,

After a difficult year and campaigning period, many of you are wondering about last weekend’s general election results. Today, I hope to give an overdue explanation.

The voter list was provided to us by the Department of Computer Science and sent to UofT Student Life for upload onto the voting platform. It was not until the voting period began when the Chief Returning Officer (CRO), Roland Gao, discovered that several students who should have been ineligible still voted. Membership and voter eligibility are derived from Section 1.2 of our constitution and the requirement to pay the Arts & Science Student Union (ASSU) fee is particularly important. Students on their Professional Experience Year (PEY) or in part-time studies who do not pay this fee are not eligible to vote; the existence of said students who nonetheless voted has led us to believe the voter list was incorrect. You may recall that last year, we encountered the inverse problem where the voter list was correct but the then CRO, convinced otherwise, reset the vote to consult with the ASSU. Due to our time and constitutional constraints this election, the CRO has decided (with the consent of the ASSU administration, candidates, and current Executive Council) to exceptionally accept the results of the original vote despite the incorrect voter list.

With that said, I will now announce the long-awaited results. A total of 219 votes were cast.

  • President: Aditya Goyal (102 votes), Jenny Xu (91 votes), 26 spoiled.
  • Vice-President: Joshua Ong (169 votes), 50 spoiled.
  • Treasurer: Aditya Mehrotra (149 votes), 70 spoiled.
  • Director of Social Events: Victor Gasnikov (124 votes), Vaibhav Holani (34 votes), 61 spoiled.
  • Director of Academic Events: Arkaprava Choudhury (86 votes), Jessica Wang (92 votes), 41 spoiled.
  • Director of Internal Relations: Mogtaba Alim (142 votes), Sannat Bhasin (24 votes), 53 spoiled.
  • Director of External Relations: Akiki Liang (167 votes), 52 spoiled.

Please join me in congratulating Aditya Goyal, Joshua Ong, Aditya Mehrotra, Victor Gasnikov, Jessica Wang, Mogtaba Alim, and Akiki Liang in their election to the CSSU Executive Council for the 2022/2023 academic year. They will officially take office when the current Executive Council’s term expires in the first week of May; we wish them the best of luck! For any outstanding questions/concerns regarding the election, please contact the CRO.

We thank all candidates for their interest in and dedication to improving the undergraduate experience. They showcased a lot of passion for our community, and I encourage those unsuccessful to join the General Council to assist in initiatives and represent more of the student body. I would also like to thank Roland for his hard work as CRO, and the students who casted a vote this month; your active participation means a lot.


Robert (Rupert) Wu
Computer Science Student Union (CSSU)

Call for Nominations (March 15, 2022)

The nomination period for the CSSU Executive Council for the 2022-2023 academic term has begun! This year, through our team’s collaboration and efforts, we are glad that we made positive impacts on social, professional, academic and public relations fronts. We continued to engage and strengthen the Computer Science community despite the remote learning setting. I encourage everyone interested in making the Computer Science community better to run for one of the following positions:

  • President
  • Vice-President
  • Treasurer
  • Director of Social Events
  • Director of Academic Events
  • Director of Internal Relations
  • Director of External Relations

Election Process

  1. Nomination Period (March 15 – March 21): If you are a candidate, please fill out the registration form by March 21st at 11:59 PM. The candidate needs to have at least 10 people nominating him/her using the nomination form by March 21st at 11:59 PM. Please do not fill out this form if you are a candidate. Please do not campaign during this period.
  2. Campaigning Period (March 22 – March 31): The candidates can start advertising their campaign and letting other students know they are running. The CRO will post campaigning rules on CSSU Discord server and/or other CSSU social media platforms.
  3. Voting Period (April 1-3): Eligible voters can vote in the election online, hosted through Ulife’s voting platform.

Candidates Town Hall (March 24, 2022)

We invite all the candidates and the CS community to a virtual town hall on Thursday, March 24th, 6-7pm. The candidates are welcome to present their platforms. The attendees will have the opportunity to ask questions and get to know the candidates better. Please find below the meeting information:

  • Time: Mar 24, 2022 06:00pm America/Toronto
  • Location: Zoom; passcode: utcssu.

Important Notices

  1. Roland Gao will be the Chief Returning Officer presiding over this year’s elections. He can answer all questions related to the election proceedings and rules.
  2. All other election announcements will be made on the official CSSU Discord server and/or other CSSU social media platforms by the CRO (or by e-mail on CRO’s behalf). For any questions, please contact Roland Gao or CSSU. For more details regarding the election process, please consult the constitution.

Membership and Voter’s Eligibility

  1. Please note that only members of CSSU are eligible to run for the executive position, complete the nomination form and/or vote during the election.
  2. According to CSSU’s constitution, membership in the CSSU is granted to any undergraduate student who is enrolled in a Computer Science or Data Science Program of Study or in a CSC-labeled course in the Faculty of Arts and Science (ie. on the St. George Campus) for Fall 2021/Winter 2022. In addition, the student must be a full-time or part-time student who pays the Arts and Science Student Union (ASSU) fee.
  3. (Particularly important for PEY students) Please double check that you paid ASSU incidental fees for the winter semester. If you haven’t paid, please contact to make a payment of 11.08$ for ASSU Incidental Fees Winter 2022. After making the payment directly to ASSU: a) For candidates, you will be required to upload proof of payment when filling out the registration form. b) Students who fill out the nomination form will be required to upload proof of payment in the nomination form. c) For students who wish to vote in the election and didn’t complete the candidate registration form or the nomination form, please upload a proof of payment by March 21st.
Last modified: 11 April 2022